All High Court recruitment updates

Recruitment Status

Notif.
Admit
Ans. Key
Result
Legal & Judicial JobsOdisha

Orissa High Court District Judge Vacancy 2026 – 38 Posts

HIGH COURT OF ORISSA | District Judge

Updated on 5 Nov 2026

Deepika Rathore, Government Recruitment Researcher at Govt Jobs AI

By Deepika Rathore · Government Recruitment Researcher · Updated Thu, 05 Nov, 2026

At a Glance

OrganisationHIGH COURT OF ORISSA
Post Name(s)District Judge
Total Vacancies38
Application Start9 Nov 2026
Application Last Date25 Nov 2026
Application FeeGeneral: ₹750, SC: ₹0, ST: ₹0, PwD: ₹0
Age Limit35-45 years (General up to 45; OBC up to 50; SC/ST up to 50)
QualificationGraduate
Salary / Pay Level₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660
Official Websitehttps://orissahighcourt.nic.in

Last Date

Wed, 25 Nov, 2026

3 weeks from now

Sign in to check your eligibility for this job

Orissa High Court District Judge Vacancy 2026 – 38 Posts — Quick Summary

The High Court of Orissa, Cuttack has advertised 38 District Judge posts under Advertisement No. 03 of 2026, with a pay scale of ₹1,44,840 to ₹1,94,660. Candidates need a Law graduate degree from a recognised university and at least seven years of continuous practice as an advocate, and must be aged 35 to 45 years. Online applications open on 9 November 2026 and close on 25 November 2026.

Last Updated: 05 Nov 2026

📖 Explained in Simple Language

The High Court of Orissa is recruiting 38 District Judges through Advertisement No. 03 of 2026, with a pay scale of ₹1,44,840 to ₹1,94,660. The post is a judicial role that handles civil and criminal cases at district level and supervises subordinate courts. You need a Law degree and at least seven years of continuous practice as an advocate, with an age between 35 and 45 years. Read the full notification and prepare your practice and enrolment records before the window closes on 25 November 2026.

AI-Extracted Notification Summary

Orissa High Court District Judge Vacancy 2026 – 38 Posts

HIGH COURT OF ORISSA

Official PDF

At a Glance

  • 138 total vacancies
  • 2Age limit: 35–45 years
  • 3Application fee: ₹750 (General)
  • 4Last date to apply: 2026-11-25
  • 5Pay: ₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660
  • 6Selection: Written Test → Interview → Document Verification

Key Dates

Apply Start9 Nov 2026
Last Date to Apply25 Nov 2026

Application Fee

GEN₹750
SCFree
STFree
PWDFree

Category-wise VacanciesTotal: 38

GEN

19

SC

6

ST

9

OBC

4

PWD

3

Age Limit

35–45 years

SC: +5 yrs relaxation

ST: +5 yrs relaxation

OBC: +5 yrs relaxation

PWD: +10 yrs relaxation

Pay Level / Salary

₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660

Selection Process

1Written Test
2Interview
3Document Verification

Qualification Required

  • •Graduate

Vacancy Details (Post-wise)

Post NameTotalURSCSTOBCEWSPHPay LevelQualificationExperience
District Judge3819694—3₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660Graduate in Law from a recognized University and advocate in continuous practice for not less than seven years.Not less than seven years of practice as an advocate or judicial officer.
Total38

Important Links

Always apply through official government websites. Govt Jobs AI does not collect applications.

Important Dates for District Judge 2026

Application Start DateMon, 09 Nov, 2026
Last Date to ApplyWed, 25 Nov, 20263 weeks from now
Last Date to Apply: Wed, 25 Nov, 2026

Who Can Apply? Eligibility Criteria for District Judge 2026

Age: 35–45 years (General), as per the notification.

Relaxation: OBC 5 years, SC/ST 5 years, PwD 10 years.

Gender: Not specified in this notification. Do not assume a gender restriction from the post name, confirm in the official notification before applying.

Qualification: Graduate in Law from a recognised University and advocate in continuous practice for not less than seven years.

Nationality: Indian citizen

Domicile: Not specified in notification

Salary for District Judge 2026

₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660

How to Apply for District Judge 2026 — Step by Step

1

Application mode: Online. Apply URL: See official notification. Application window: 9 November 2026 to 25 November

2

Fee: ₹750 for General candidates, ₹0 for SC/ST candidates.

3

Visit the official website given in the notification and read Advertisement No. 03 of 2026 completely.

4

Register with a valid email and mobile number and note your registration ID.

5

Fill in personal, educational, enrolment, and practice details exactly as on your certificates.

6

Select your category and claim relaxation only with a valid certificate.

7

Upload your photograph and signature in the size and format given in the notification.

8

Pay the fee in the mode specified in the notification.

9

Review the form and submit before 25 November

10

Download the acknowledgement and save your application number.

What Documents Are Required for District Judge 2026?

  • 110th Marksheet
  • 2Law Degree Certificate
  • 3Bar Council Enrolment Certificate
  • 4Proof of Seven Years Continuous Practice
  • 5Caste Certificate (if applicable)
  • 6OBC Certificate in prescribed format (if applicable)
  • 7PwD Certificate (if applicable)
  • 8Recent Passport-size Photo (white background)
  • 9Signature Scan
  • 10Aadhaar Card or Voter ID

📞 Contact and Helpline for HIGH COURT OF ORISSA Recruitment 2026

Official Notification / Advertisement

Download Official PDF Notification

Advertisement / Reference Number

03 of 2026

Who Should Apply

✓ Age: 35 to 45 years as on the cut-off date in the notification. Relaxation: SC/ST 5 years, OBC 5 years, PwD 10 years.✓ Qualification: Graduate in Law from a recognised University, and an advocate in continuous practice for not less than seven years.✓ Domicile: Not specified in notification.✓ Gender: Open to all genders.

The post requires both a law degree and a proven record of at least seven years of continuous practice as an advocate. The notification also lists experience as not less than seven years of practice as an advocate or judicial officer, so eligible candidates include both practising advocates and serving judicial officers who meet the experience threshold. Your practice years must be countable from your enrolment and supported by documents, because the practice period is what determines eligibility.

Work out your eligible upper age limit before you apply. A general candidate can apply up to 45 years. SC/ST and OBC candidates can apply up to 50 years, and PwD candidates up to 55 years, subject to the exact rules in the notification. Use the age calculator to check your age on the cut-off date.

What Is the Salary of District Judge? Pay Scale and Career Growth

  • District Judge (38 posts): Pay scale ₹1,44,840 to ₹1,94,660.
  • Pay level: See official notification.
  • In-hand salary: See official notification for allowances and deductions.

If this post is covered by the National Pension System, the NPS deduction is 10% of basic pay plus DA. This assumes the post is covered by NPS rather than an older pension scheme, and the notification does not confirm which scheme applies. Income tax applies according to the applicable slab. Use the salary calculator to estimate your take-home pay once you know the pay level and pension scheme. District Judge is a judicial service post, and promotion within the judicial hierarchy is governed by service rules rather than a fixed timeline stated in this notification.

Common Mistakes That Get Applications Rejected

  • Wrong photo or signature format: Uploading files outside the size, dimension, or format given in the notification is a frequent cause of rejection. Check the specifications before uploading.
  • Incomplete education and enrolment details: Leaving out your law degree year, university, or Bar Council enrolment number can make the form incomplete.
  • Age miscalculated against relaxation: SC/ST and OBC candidates have an effective upper limit of 50 years, and PwD candidates 55 years, so check your age against the correct limit rather than the general 45-year limit.
  • Wrong category or unsupported relaxation claim: Claiming SC/ST, OBC, or PwD status without a valid certificate in the prescribed format is a common cause of disqualification.
  • Practice period not supported by documents: Claiming seven years of practice without enrolment and practice records that cover the period can lead to rejection at scrutiny.
  • Fee paid under the wrong category: General candidates must pay ₹750, while SC/ST candidates pay ₹0. Paying in the wrong category can create a mismatch in your application.
  • Missing documents at verification: Keep originals of your law degree, enrolment certificate, practice proof, date of birth proof, and category certificates ready for document verification.

What Happens After Selection? — Joining, Training and Posting

The notification does not state the document verification schedule, medical examination requirements, or training period. Once the selection process is announced, the High Court will call shortlisted candidates for document verification, and you should carry originals of all documents listed in the notification. Joining formalities, posting locations, and the preference system, if any, are not specified in this notification and should be confirmed from the official notification or subsequent communications from the High Court.

About High Court of Orissa

The High Court of Orissa is the constitutionally established High Court for the state of Odisha, based in Cuttack. It exercises jurisdiction over the subordinate judiciary across the state, which includes the recruitment and appointment of District Judges under the rules of the High Court.

The High Court is a credible employer for judicial candidates because it supervises the district and subordinate courts of the state and runs its recruitment through formal advertisements, with clearly stated eligibility and fee rules. This advertisement is numbered and dated, which makes its terms verifiable against the official notification.

About the District Judge Role

A District Judge presides over civil and criminal matters at the district level, decides cases on evidence and law, and oversees subordinate judicial officers within the district. The role is desk and courtroom based rather than field based, and it carries the responsibilities of a judicial officer, including impartial adjudication and administrative supervision of the court. Uniform, reporting structure, and specific tools are governed by service rules and are not detailed in this notification.

🔍

Govt Jobs AI Analyst's Take

The seven-year continuous practice requirement combined with a 35 to 45 year age band narrows the pool to mid-career advocates, so this is not a fresh-graduate recruitment and competition will be concentrated among experienced lawyers. Because the High Court recruits for the whole state, the competition is statewide rather than local.

More Jobs Like This

Frequently Asked Questions — Orissa High Court District Judge Vacancy 2026 – 38 Posts

The notification does not specify a domicile rule. Domicile is listed as not specified in notification, so do not assume a state-specific restriction or an all-India open rule. Read the full Advertisement No. 03 of 2026 to confirm, since the post is recruited through the High Court of Odisha.

Keep ready a scanned passport-size photograph, a signature scan, and your date of birth proof (10th marksheet or certificate). Also keep your Law degree certificate, Bar Council enrolment certificate, and records proving at least seven years of continuous practice as an advocate. Add your caste certificate if claiming SC or ST status, your OBC certificate in the prescribed format if applicable, and a PwD certificate if claiming that relaxation. Confirm the exact format and size in the official notification.

The notification does not specify a physical test. Selection type is not specified, so the stages are not confirmed in this notification. See official notification for the full selection process before assuming any test is required.

The notification does not specify a limit on attempts. Since no cap is stated, the effective constraint is your age limit, which is 35 to 45 years with relaxations for eligible categories, and your seven years of required practice.

The pay scale is ₹1,44,840 to ₹1,94,660, and the pay level is not specified in the notification. If this post is covered by the National Pension System, the NPS deduction is 10% of basic pay plus DA. This assumes NPS coverage rather than an older pension scheme, which the notification does not confirm. Income tax applies according to the applicable slab. The notification does not give an in-hand estimate, so see official notification for the full break-up.

The notification does not specify posting locations or a preference system. Since the post falls under the High Court of Orissa at Cuttack, the posting will be within the judicial districts of Odisha. Confirm the exact posting rules from the official notification or subsequent communication from the High Court.

The notification provides SC/ST relaxation of 5 years, OBC relaxation of 5 years, and PwD relaxation of 10 years. This gives an effective upper age limit of 50 years for SC/ST and OBC candidates and 55 years for PwD candidates, against a general limit of 45 years. Check the notification for how PwD relaxation combines with category relaxation.

No. You must have completed your Law degree and must have seven years of continuous practice as an advocate by the closing date. Since the post requires experience as well as a degree, a candidate who is still studying cannot meet the eligibility requirement.

The notification does not specify the selection stages, marks, or whether there is a written test, interview, or viva. See official notification for the complete stage-by-stage process. Do not assume any stage that is not stated in the notification.

The application window opens on 9 November 2026, and the last date to apply is 25 November 2026. The notification does not mention a correction window, so check the official portal for any edit facility. If you miss the deadline, your application will not be accepted.

About the Author

Deepika Rathore, Government Recruitment Researcher at Govt Jobs AI
Deepika RathoreGovernment Recruitment Researcher

Deepika Rathore is a government recruitment researcher at Govt Jobs AI. She holds an M.Com and has followed Indian government recruitment since 2011, joining Govt Jobs AI when it launched in 2026.

Her background is in teaching, and it shapes how she writes: the aim is to explain what a notification actually means for a candidate, not just restate it. She covers teaching and education recruitment, State PSC and UPSC civil services notifications, social welfare and women & child development postings (Anganwadi/ICDS recruitment among them), and general administrative and clerical postings.

Every page published here runs through automated checks before it goes live — the system flags inconsistencies in vacancy counts, category splits, age limits and closing dates, and nothing is published until those pass.

Found an error? Email alerts@govtjobsai.com and we'll fix it with a dated correction note.

Career Tips You May Find Useful

Related Government Jobs